Team Germany Expects World Cup in 2010

2010 South Africa FIFA World Cup has just begun and one national team always to watch out for is Germany, which I will be watching on cable tv Indiana.
Either as West Germany or reunified Germany, the national team has been a strong contender for the World Cup. Based on FIFA's World Cup history, as West Germany, the country won 3 World Cups, held second place three times, third place once and fourth place once. Post-reunification Germany never won a World Cup; however, the country has held second place once and third place once. Even, in 1934, pre-divided Germany held third place.
The largest upset was the third place finish in 2006 when Germany hosted the World Cup. On a happy note, the western half of Germany did win the World Cup as host in 1974.
The nationalist spirit of Germany has been strong since its unification in the 19th century and reunification in 1991. The 1990's and early 21st century has seen the strength of Michael Ballack and goalkeeper Oliver Kahn with rising stars Miroslav Klose, Lukas Podolski, Philipp Lahm and Bastian Schweinsteiger.
Expect a strong German team with key players Klose, Podolski, Lahm and Schweinsteiger in 2010. After the 2006 upset despite a good surge for a third place finish, the Germans will try to save face by reaching the top in South Africa.

This was written by guest blogger Stephen Aleman


cialis said…
I, of course, a newcomer to this blog, but the author does not agree

Popular posts from this blog

MellowYellow and Blue Monday: My gifts

Watery Wednesday- Rainforest